Home

I decided to do an update on an old blog post, the-last-single-girl. I am now the last unmarried woman.

Okay I am being dramatic, BUT six of my girlfriends are married, one is engaged, and four are in long-term relationships. Then there is me! I am single as a pringle, been single since March 2015. I was okay with this.

I use that word “okay.”

When I wrote The Last Single Girl only one of my girlfriends were married. I also focused on my closest 5, instead of my 11 girlfriends who I’d celebrate Galentine’s with. A lot has changed in those 3 years. I was a bridesmaid twice, Maid of Honor in one of those weddings! A guest in the rest of the weddings.

I am so thankful I don’t have a family or extended family that says things like “when are you next?” Instead, I say that to myself at nighttime. Henceforth, the word “okay.” When you are alone with your thoughts, they should be kind and encouraging. When I lay at night by myself 90% of the time I am kind, but there’s that 10% that can be really lethal.

What if I never get married?
What if I never have children?
What if I end up alone?
What if Ellie (dog) is the only love of my life?

Of course it says more hateful things than that, but these are the root meanings.

I am only 27 years old. I have a lot to do still before I settle down. I do truly believe I will be married, and have children, but waiting is not my strong suit. I want to travel with my love NOW. I want to go kayaking, paint naked with each other, take hiking trips, camp, swim, white water raft, run 5Ks, do wine tastings, and many other things.

Then I realized… I can do those things.

I have been waiting for someone to tell me it is time for adventure, when really I am the adventurer. I am the extrovert! The Scorpio, passionate woman who is going to bring so much joy to the man I meet. I am the one who is fun. I am the go getter.

If you want better, go get better!

This thought hit me like a ton of bricks. Stop waiting, live your story!

BE THE PERSON YOU WANT TO MEET.

P.S. My 3 closest girlfriends and I have a shared group message. Lately, they all have been very excited about their curtains, couches, and windows. I’m over here like “I could send another picture of my dog!” This tickles me deeply.

2 thoughts on “The Last Unmarried Woman

  1. This is so interesting to me because I am 27 years old and not one single girlfriend of mine is married, engaged or in a long term relationship! Sure, it’d be great to have a boyfriend but most of us aren’t feeling pressured or worried in the slightest! You aren’t the last one girlfriend! In fact, there’s a massive group of us doing just fine as single, independent ladddaaaaays!

Leave a Reply

